The Short Story
The site where the estate is located was formerly farming land owned by the Lafond family (hence the name of the road leading to it). In 1963, a somewhat eccentric engineer, wanting to find some peace and quiet with his family, discovered this beautiful part of the Eastern Townships. It is now called the township of Potton, which the old village of Highwater is now part. Quite evidently, this is where the Estate is located.
Highwater, (South Potton) had a train station, which was once an almost mandatory stop for travelers heading to the USA (Boston, New York) from Montreal and Ottawa. The sulfurous waters found in the area as well as the charm of the region brought his lot of travelers, already at that time. Since then, much water has flowed under the old covered Province Hill bridge (pont couvert de la frontière built in 1896) and although Highwater has lost its train station, its post office, its hotel, its general store and some of its luster, the area remains beautifully bucolic.
The Estate's cottages were built between the years 1961 and 1974. Their designs are more than original to say the least, much like their designers. First was the AAA cottage built by the engineer father, and then followed the tough-father-in-law-at-first-who-then-became-best-mate-with-his-stepson and built his own, the GP cottage. Thousands of guest have experience this incredible site. The Highwater Estate is now a all year round cottage rental destination, for ski or golf, outdoors or nature lovers of all walk of life. Now come and be part in this story with a stay at our beautiful Highwater Estate.